HOW MUCH MONEY SHOULD I SPEND ON HOBBIES?

I have several hobbies or interests. First, is of course writing, which is the main reason why I started this blog in the first place. I also write novels, but the pace is, well, very, very gentle. Second, for as long as I can remember, I like to draw, and my specialty is drawing characters. Nowadays, the character I drew a lot is a squishy white cat called Hello Kitty right below, as often requested by the twin.

Third, I am fond of playing mobile legends, a mobile game, and usually play it during lunch break as tank or support, particularly using Lolita or Ruby. Fourth, I like teaching, and sometime offer free sharing session about finance-related topic to friends. All of these, have little prospect of making money for me for the time being.

Then, the question is; how much should a person spend on hobbies?

Honestly, I don’t have the right answer for the question. I think, there is no standard on how much percentage of your income that is allowed to be used for hobbies.

But, I wholeheartedly believe that life is about living and that it’s always worthwhile to spend time and some money on activities that make you happy. And, being happy will strengthen the resolve to achieve our financial goals. Its not in vain, instead its worthwhile.

Having said that, a number of factors need to be considered when deciding how much money to spend on activities that don’t generate any income, to ensure these short-term relieves will not cause long-term regrets in the future.

Prior to starting any of my hobbies, I always ensure the funds for saving and investment are already allocated properly, these fund are what going to support me and my family to get our desires lifestyle in the future, I wouldn’t dare neglect it. Simultaneously, I check whether the emergency funds are enough or not to cover our standard costs of living for whatever months you deemed are needed if something happened, if not enough, I prefer to postpone my enjoyment. I also make sure the bills and other essential expenses are settled. If you still have excess cash after preparing everything for your financial goals, emergency, and necessities, then you may use whatever is left for your hobbies.

Fortunately, my hobbies are not expensive. I can write anywhere, and almost anytime in my smartphone. Art supplies for my drawing activities cost me less than IDR 300,000 (US$ 21) a year, at least for now, if I got better I might buy better supplies which are more expensive, we will see about that. And, internet quota for my gaming and sharing hobbies are paid by my office -thank you-.

I do know some hobbies are more expensive than others. So, if you have this kind of hobbies, find ways to achieve the same level of enjoyment through spending less money. Taking a creative and frugal approach to the activities you enjoy can help the money you set aside for hobbies last longer. If you like photography, buy used cameras and lenses. If you write short fiction stories, put off the new console purchase and skip Comic-Con for a year, and read available free stories in the internet to continue feeding your imagination.

Basically, if you are prepared, you have all the right to fully enjoy your life.

1 Comment

Leave a Comment